Databases
AMEDAllied and complementary medicine database. 1985 onwards. |
BNICovers all aspects of nursing, midwifery and community healthcare from 1992 onwards. |
CINAHLCovers all aspects of nursing and allied health disciplines from 1981 onwards. |
EMBASEPharmacology, biomedical and psychiatry database, from 1974 onwards. |
EMCARENursing and allied health database, from 1995 onwards. |
HBEHealth Business Elite database covers health management and administration, from 1922 onwards. |
HMICManagement database from the King's Fund and Department of Health publications. |
MEDLINEComprehensive medical database covering all disciplines, from 1946 onwards. |
PsycINFOInternational psychology database, from 1806 onwards. |
Social Policy and PracticePublic health and social science database, from 1890 onwards. |
PubMed
If you prefer to search PubMed you can use this link to include the library journal holdings in your search results. Click the 'Get Full Text' or 'Download PDF' button and login with your NHS Athens account to access the full-text. If articles are not available in full-text you will be re-directed to a pre-populated inter-library request form - just add your name and email address, then we will use our networks to try and obtain a copy for you from another library.
|
|
Help & Support
The move from HDAS to the native interfaces will require you to search on different platforms depending on which databases you need. The library staff are available to help you with the migration to the new platforms and can provide training, as well as conducting work-related searches on your behalf. Online help from the suppliers is also available:
- Ovid training videos on how to search each database
- ProQuest NHS Support
- EBSCO Basic search :: Advanced search
- How to search the literature effectively: a step-by-step guide to finding information and developing the skills for successful searching (eLearning for Healthcare modules on searching the NHS resources)
- Search syntax and wildcards crib sheet
Please get in touch if you would like some help to search the new interfaces:
Email: [email protected]
Tel: 01625 66 1362
Email: [email protected]
Tel: 01625 66 1362
NHS Knowledge & Library Hub
The NHS Knowledge and Library Hub is a discovery system which connects NHS staff and learners seamlessly to a range of high quality knowledge and evidence resources all in one place. It offers an intuitive search experience for quick searches and options for in-depth searches. It includes:
Enter your keywords below and click 'Search'. On the results page, click in the yellow bar at the top of the page to login with your NHS Athens username and password for full-text access.
Note: this only works in Chrome, Edge, Safari or other modern browser; it does not work in Internet Explorer.
- over 7,000 journals
- books and e-publications including OUP handbooks
- one-click access to full-text, request a copy or contact your NHS library
- links to clinical decision support tools such as BMJ Best Practice and UpToDate
- NICE pathways and guidelines
- databases like Medline, EMBASE and CINAHL.
Enter your keywords below and click 'Search'. On the results page, click in the yellow bar at the top of the page to login with your NHS Athens username and password for full-text access.
Note: this only works in Chrome, Edge, Safari or other modern browser; it does not work in Internet Explorer.
Searching: Health and Care Evidence
Searching the NHS databasesA series of short (20 min) e-learning modules to learn the steps for successful literature searching. Module 1 Introduction to searching Module 2 Where do I start searching? Module 3 How do I start to develop a search strategy? Module 4 Too many results? How to narrow your search Module 5 Too few results? How to broaden your search Module 6 Searching with subject headings Module 7 Searching the NHS Knowledge and Library Hub and bibliographic databases |